//
you're reading...
Fiction, Musings, Opinion, Publishing, Writing

Distractions: What’s taking you away from your writing and when is a distraction a good thing?


Image

What’s distracting me from writing today

Distractions are everywhere. Let’s face it, as writers we’re with them, most in the form of work offers or job responsibilities. But are all distractions bad? And when is it a good time to let a distraction pull you away from your writing? Recently while working on my novel, I became distracted by the promise of work. While my heart was in the pages of Sunlight on an Empty Room, my mind for finance said, “take it, you fool!” And thus began my latest distraction from what I truly want to do. Admittedly, most distractions are bad for us. Phones ringing, text messages coming through, or the next episode of Scandal beginning in the background, whatever, it distracts us. Bad distractions are those outside forces, which we allow to hinder our inner voice. While your inner voice is saying write, the outside distraction may seem urgent. Other distractions can come in the form of friends or family; someone’s having a crisis, somebody forgot to do something for somebody else, and for some reason all these people need to share their something with you. It really doesn’t matter from where the distraction hails; the end result is the same, non-productive writing time. Essentially they are hindering our true progress. There are a few good ways to mitigate distractions. One of my favorites comes from Carol Gagnoux (ADD Insights). Ms. Gagnoux suggests jotting down the distraction on a notepad or paper as they occur and tossing them aside. She refers to this as your “capture pad”. You can always return to the pad later and determine what’s important and what can wait. Another tool is blocking or unplugging. This works with your surroundings, your equipment, or your friends. This can also be harder to do than capture padding. To ensure you’re getting the most productivity out of your writing time, turn off the electronics, stay off the Internet, and blow off your friends and family. I happen to be doing that right now. I find the quiet very inspiring. On the contrary, a good distraction can come in the form of inspiration. Sometimes when we’re writing, another idea may pop into our minds. It’s perfectly OK to stop what you’re doing to jot down an idea for a new manuscript or other project. Just keep convenient Moleskin nearby and remember to return to work in progress. Another distraction could be a much-needed mental hygiene break. Some days we take in and process way too much information to be creative. You may need to take a step back from your writing in order to progress forward. I often think writer’s block is primarily fueled by information overload. It is possible to research a project to death. Also, the editing process can spawn burnout. Get distracted; go for some exercise or anything else that doesn’t require “throwing out your babies”. Real writers will know to I am referring. Whatever the distraction, it’s important to keep things in perspective. Letting a distraction become the focus of your energy is its own punishment and its own reward. Is there something you do to lessen distractions? Hit me up via this blog or on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/authorshereesem.

About Reese

Writer, trying to remain a lady in a cruel and harsh world. I think I'm winning!

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Distractions: What’s taking you away from your writing and when is a distraction a good thing?

  1. Dear Shereese,

    I find that my most distracting activity is Twitter. For some reason, I find it difficult to stop twittering with some woefully hopeless people in the city of Baltimore. Even though I live in Florida and would not live in Baltimore if it was the only habitable place remaining on Earth, I have developed an interest in these people and the events of their daily lives, as they record them in their twits. Sort of like watching ants in their little ant hills, I guess.

    Any suggestions?

    Dave R

    Posted by Dave Robinette | December 4, 2012, 12:32 am
    • Dave, I have the same problem. Baltimore, the sea of corruption that it is, is like watching a train wreck; I just can’t look away. As far as those you tweet with, they probably are good distractions. I would suggest you tweet in moderation as I do. In my case, some of the inspiration fr my posts comes from the tweets I encounter. Carry On!

      Posted by Reese | December 12, 2012, 10:52 am
  2. I have re-blogged this – Hope that’s OK. :-) ?

    Posted by Pat | December 11, 2012, 11:19 am
  3. Hi Reese,

    The first type of distraction that you wrote about: a job offer, is one that must be let through the distraction wall. Even if you decide to forego the opportunity, it merits consideration. The family distractions (especially with our siblings) can easily devour large chunks of time, if we let them. I’ve become pretty good at staying out of those situations.

    Often, the distraction to my writing is internal. We can shut off our phones and the Internet, but we can’t shut off our minds. Thinking can be it’s own distraction.

    I had never heard of the “capture pad” term, but I do jot down ideas on any piece of paper that’s handy. It’s not a very organized way to do it, but it works okay for me most of the time.

    Posted by Ray Colon | December 12, 2012, 6:23 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Distracted Much? « My Etch-A-Sketch Life - November 26, 2012

  2. Pingback: Monday Challenge: Distractions « Bare Knuckle Writer - December 10, 2012

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: 10 Ways to Write with Distractions | An Evil Nymph's Blog - December 10, 2012

  4. Pingback: Distractions: What’s taking you away from your writing and when is a distraction a good thing? « Shereese’s Blog | patwoodblogging - December 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

Remember that time…

What’s going on?

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 5,453 hits

AuthorShereesem

Bookmark and Share

Shereese

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Good Reads Group

.gr_grid_container { /* customize grid container div here. eg: width: 500px; */ } .gr_grid_book_container { /* customize book cover container div here */ float: left; width: 39px; height: 60px; padding: 0px 0px; overflow: hidden; }
Make a book a bestseller
Make a book a bestseller 359 members
If a bunch of people can get Betty White to host Saturday Night Live seems like we can make a great...

Books we've read



View this group on Goodreads »
Share book reviews and ratings with Make a book a bestseller, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

about.me

Shereese Maynard

Shereese Maynard

Accomplished Health Care Transitions Expert and Economist

More than an expert, I am a health care compliance and care transitions enthusiast currently practicing across the U.S. I'm currently serving as the founder and managing director of EnvisionCare Strategies. I guide the mission of the company while continuing to work hands-on with many of the nation's emerging health care providers. In addition to governing, I educate health care providers about business practices, including policy development & implementation, information technology,content marketing, strategic planning, intellectual property, and clinical talent. An enthusiastic and gifted writer, I enjoy a second full-time career as a freelance journalist and short-story writer. You can find my guest-posting across several blogs including, The Book Guys, The Issue with HealthCare and as the subject-matter expert for http://MyCity4Her.com. I also publish weekly for The Examiner (http://exm.nr/17Zi54o). No stranger to social media, I encourage engagement among diverse personalities and professionals. Let’s discuss healthcare. You can find me on a platform near you:

1. http://www.goodreads.com/Shereesemaynard

2. https://www.facebook.com/shereesemaynard

3. https://twitter.com/AuthorShereeseM

4. http://www.linkedin.com/in/shereesemaynard/

5. http://bit.ly/17ZhPCv (Google+)

Personally I love books, anything French, and worldly adventures. I subscribe to the theory, “It's better to engage than to enrage.” To contact me directly, write to me at: AskShereese@gmail.com or find me on LinkedIn.com/shereesemaynard

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

