Posted in Uncategorized

OH GROW UP! IS THE JUMP FROM FICTION TO NON-FICTION A MATTER OF MATURITY FOR THE SERIOUS WRITER?


Leo Tolstoy
Image via Wikipedia

It’s often been written that Tolstoy abandoned fiction post Anna Karenina for more in-depth self discovery and non-fiction literature. I would argue that nothing could be further from the truth but while pondering that very question, I began to wonder; do writers eventually abandon their fictional start for non-fictional notoriety?

Fiction, non-fiction, literary, creative, critically acclaimed, these are all words used to describe an art form whose true value can only be found in the mind and soul of the person it touches. The only true stakeholders are the writer and the reader. However given today’s fictional winners, stories of vampires, and chicks who gossip, etc. . . ., is fiction immature? John M. Riley wrote, “A writer has several lives . . .,” He goes on to describe the second life as autobiographical. The
first, if you are a writer of fiction, is that world which we construct from
our imagination.

I have been writing fictional short-stories for some time. I’m very happy when my six hundred or so readers enjoy what I’ve written but it never fails; new readers will often comment on the honesty of the stories. I submit, with the exception of my “Phorest” writings, there is absolutely no truth in what I write. I write fiction. But what if there’s another writer, that second life yet to be born? As writers do we toy around with fiction, hinting at little-known truths with the eventual being our rebirth, our leap into non-fiction? How many fiction writers would love to be recognized more for their non-fictional prose than their fictional ones? Would that make us more accomplished? With fiction, are we testing our talents until general acceptance allows us to move on to better things; better things being non-fictional thought. Another consideration, perhaps hidden in our fictional characters is those truths we hide from our audience. I’ve often said, “Writers write because “it” (whatever it is), has to get out.”  Perhaps it’s easier to hide our flaws in our fictional characters than to expose ourselves to judgment if penned via non-fiction. Eventually, hopefully, we realize that it’s ok to write our opinions about the world, or share our fears, our loathing for our existence here on earth. And isn’t that what maturity is about?

I’m wondering if other writers of fiction, RB Clague, Dixon Rice, Jay Parinni and Tiffany Harmon (all great writers), are fiction enthusiasts for life or if they are still maturing, waiting for a time when it will be safe to pen the greatest story
ever, their own! I’m just wondering.

Author:

More than an expert, I am a healthcare design strategies and information governance influencer. I'm currently developing policy and content for Pediatric, DME, Direct Primary care, and independent providers. I am serving as the managing director of EnvisionCare Strategies. I guide the mission of the company while continuing to work hands-on with many of the nation's emerging healthcare providers. In addition to governing, I educate healthcare providers about business practices, including policy development & implementation, information technology and governance, budgeting & finance, content marketing, strategic planning, intellectual property, and clinical talent.

10 thoughts on “OH GROW UP! IS THE JUMP FROM FICTION TO NON-FICTION A MATTER OF MATURITY FOR THE SERIOUS WRITER?

  1. Looks like you are an expert in this field, you got some great points there, but you’ll want to add a facebook button to your blog. I just bookmarked this article, although I had to complete it manually. Simply my $.02 🙂

    – Daniel

  2. Interesting topic. I tend to blend both fiction and non-fiction where possible, in all my books. A lot of what I write about is taken from both my life and career. Some of it, ot course, is just completely made up. I think I am probably a fiction writer for life. I tend to think that I completed the process you’re talking about in reverse. I spent many years writing Pre-Sentence reports for the Supreme Court, in relation to serious sex offenders, all of which was comprised of verifiable fact and over which i was crossed-examined on many occasions. For me, it’s now about having fun with writing.

    1. I get where you’re coming from. I have been a health care policy writer for over a decade. I’m now writing fiction for fun also. I try to write every day. However, from time to time I wonder if we eventually gravitate toward non-fiction as self expression or as we gain confidence and maturity in our writing.

Leave a Reply

